Owls of New England


Order:  Strigiformes
Family:  Strigidae

Boreal Owl
Photo © Martinkubik

Provides information about the owls of Massachusetts, Maine, New Hampshire, Connecticut, Vermont, and Rhode Island.

Learn to recognize New England owls from photos, identification tips, and their sounds and calls. Includes facts about the size, diet, and habitat of these raptors.

Some of these owls, such as the Barred Owl, are fairly common in New England.
Others, like the Boreal Owl (above) are rare visitors.

Barred Owl

Photo credit (Barred Owl): Amy Leist/NPS